Special Education Foundation established the John Cary Scholarship in 2016. In naming the $5,000 scholarship after him, the Foundation recognizes John Cary, the late superintendent of Special School District of St. Louis County, for his commitment to excellence and his tireless support of students with disabilities.

The Foundation has awarded scholarships to deserving students entering post-secondary education since 1988. SEF presented five John Cary scholarships totaling $25,000 at an May 7 reception at Special School District’s central office. The 2019 recipients were:

  • Aesha Ali, South Technical High School, who plans to attend University of Missouri St. Louis
  • Natalie Littich, South Technical High School, who plans to attend Jefferson College
  • Lindsay Perrett, South Technical High School, who plans to attend Brigham Young University
  • Carson Sears, Valley Park High School, who plans to attend University of Central Missouri
  • Kaylee Todd, Eureka High School and Normandy High School, who plans to attend SIUE School of Nursing
2019 John Cary Scholars

Criteria for Scholarships: The John Cary Scholarships will be given to graduating students who have received services from the Special School District of St. Louis County — special education and/or technical education – and who are planning to attend a four-year college or university. The selected students will reflect the characteristics most admired by John Cary — resiliency, courage and determination. The scholarship committee looks for evidence of future success by considering academics, leadership and community volunteer activities, and success in athletics and/or the arts. Well-rounded individuals, particularly those with exceptional achievement in a particular area, are likely to be successful applicants. Overcoming obstacles carries weight in the screening process. Financial need and teacher recommendations are also considered. The funds may be used for tuition only.

Teachers, after your students apply for a scholarship, you will fill out the Teacher Next Steps form and submit a letter of recommendation.

The next deadline for scholarship applications is January 17, 2020. The new form will be online soon. For more information or if you need help with the online application, please contact Jeanine at 314-394-7030 or email jeanine@sef-stl.org.

The Christopher Davis Scholarship is awarded annually to a graduate from the Rockwood School District and/or the Ritenour School District. The scholarship, sponsored by Ronald and Marsha Davis, is given as a tribute to their son, Christopher, who was fatally injured in a car accident. Christopher received services for his learning disability from Special School District. Davis scholarship recipients are selected by SSD teachers at the Rockwood and Ritenour School Districts. The 2019 recipient is Shekhinah Estes of Ritenour High School.

There are other scholarships available to students served by SSD:

  • James E. Westbury Memorial Board of Education Scholarships
  • Bonhomme Lions Scholarships
  • Allison M. Haake Memorial Scholarship