Skip to main content

What We Do

Fred Saigh Leadership Academy

Creating leadership opportunities for students.

About the Program

The Fred Saigh Leadership Academy, beginning in fall 2004, broadens student horizons beyond the classroom through new and unique community-related opportunities.

Each year, up to 20 high school students who show leadership potential are selected to participate in a year of training. The curriculum introduces, fosters and develops leadership skills and involves the students in issues that face the community. At the completion of the program, the students return to their respective schools equipped to campaign for school offices, manage school projects and assume leadership positions. The program ends with a graduation ceremony where the students share their most memorable experiences and how the program has impacted their lives.

The selected students take one day each month to visit and explore key sites/locations and meet leaders throughout the metropolitan area. The program exposes the students to the institutions that make our community vital and effective in meeting the needs of its citizens. Examples include a visit to the St. Louis County Executive’s Office, the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, and the State Capitol in Jefferson City, Missouri. To get a fuller sense of what activities the program involves, you can take a look at this year’s schedule of activities.

Meet the Leadership Academy’s class of 2024:

Israel Anjorin of Parkway Central High School

Jack Balmer of Parkway West High School

Henry Becker of Lindbergh High School

Joy Buchannon of STEAM Academy a McCluer South

Olivia Brown of Pattonville High School

Vanessa Cummings of McCluer High School

Lilah Durham of Brentwood High School

Damian Ewald of Ladue Horton Watkins High School

Montell Jackson of Riverview Gardens High School

Terrance Jones of McCluer North High School

Kai Lawson of Webster Groves High School

Taylor Owens of Ladue Horton Watkins High School

Henry Regans of Riverview Gardens High School

Tyson Stegall of McCluer High School

Zynia Thomas of Jennings High School

2023-2024 Leadership Academy class visits the Little Bit Foundation.

See the 2022-2023 Fred Saigh Leadership Academy Class


From the Newsroom

The Fred Saigh Leadership Academy Class of 2024’s graduation on May 1 was a remarkable evening filled with inspiration and pride.

Henry Becker is the recipient of Lindbergh’s Most Inspirational Senior Award! This award goes to a student who has been most inspiring to the teachers and students at Lindbergh High School (LHS).

SEF is looking for more high school students to apply for next year’s Fred Saigh Leadership Academy.

  • Karen Becker* Lindbergh High School
    Karen Becker* Lindbergh High School

    I believe the opportunities Henry has experienced in the Fred Saigh Leadership Academy have played a part in his accomplishments this year. We are thankful he has had this experience and we are grateful to the Fred Saigh Leadership Academy for all that they do for young people with disabilities!