Skip to main content

News & Events

Starfish Award Winners

The Special Education Congratulates the 2024 Starfish Award Recipients!

(More Winners to be announced- check back for updates!)


  • SSD Substitute Paraprofessional - Green Pines Elementary, Subdistrict Seven (Clayton, Rockwood)

  • Teacher - North Technical High School - SSD Schools

  • Teacher - Walker Elementary, Subdistrict One (Hazelwood, Jennings, Maplewood-Richmond Heights)

  • Dana Meinecke, Teacher of North Glendale Elementary, Subdistrict Five (Brentwood, Kirkwood, Lindbergh, Valley Park, Webster Groves)

  • Teacher – Oakville Senior High, Subdistrict Two (Affton, Bayless, Hancock Place, Mehlville)

  • Teacher – Ladue Horton Watkins High, Subdistrict Six (Ladue, Normandy, Ritenour, University City)

  • Teacher - Michelle Obama ECAC, Subdistrict Four (Ferguson-Florissant, Pattonville, Riverview Gardens)

  • Teacher Barretts Elementary Subdistrict Three (Parkway)


The recipients of the Starfish Awards include one individual selected from each of the 7 subdistricts within the St. Louis County Public School System, as well as 1 individual from the Special School District schools and Central Office. Nominations included not only teachers but paraprofessionals, retired SSD employees, and administrative staff.

Celebrate an evening of excitement with SEF!  

Date: June 13, 2024 

Location: CITYPARK Stadium, home of the St. Louis CITY SC

2100 Market St, St. Louis, MO 63103

Time: 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm 

Together we'll honor special individuals who have made a significant impact through their seemingly small, yet profoundly meaningful actions. 

Register here to attend. The deadline to purchase tickets is May 31, 2024.