Our Chairman, Gene McNary

Gene McNary with young studentGene has been an advocate for children and youth who receive special education services throughout his career. As St. Louis County Executive from 1974 to 1989, Gene served as a Special School District celebrity teacher, spoke at numerous SSD events and chaired District committees. In 1986, he chaired the District’s tax initiative that passed with a 68 percent majority. In 2001, Gene joined the Special Education Foundation Board of Directors. He served as board president from 2003 to 2011, and from 2013 to the present. He was honored as the Foundation’s Hero with Heart in 2011.

Gene has led a stellar career in public service. He was St. Louis County Prosecutor from 1968 to 1976. In 1974, he was elected St. Louis County Executive and was re-elected three times. He then became the Commissioner of the Immigration and Naturalization Service under President George H. W. Bush from 1989 to 1993. He returned to St. Louis to practice law for several years. In 2006, Gene became Executive Director of the Missouri Gaming Commission. He served in that position for four years. Now retired, Gene remains committed to public service.

Click to view members’ LinkedIn profiles.

Board Officers

Gene McNary
President and Chairman

Debbie Bentele
First Vice President

Tim Randolph
Second Vice President

Jane Vickrey

John Adkins

David M. Diener
Executive Director

Board Members

Julia Burke, Ph.D.
Jonathan Burkhardt
Don Bohannon
Richard Carver
Michael P. Corry
Linda Fahrenkrog
Dana Huxley
Michael Lackey
David F. Neiers
Tom Oberle
Steven L. Schoolman
Carin Shulusky
Laurie Williams

Development Advisors
Don Davis
Dan McLaughlin