On April 24, 2014, 20 college-bound students served by Special School District of St. Louis County were awarded scholarships from the Special Education Foundation at the annual Commitment to Kids Banquet. Parents, teachers, administrators and community leaders were in the audience of more than 350 individuals to applaud the achievements of these students. Each of the student recipients excelled in academics, school activities and community service.
Students will be attending schools throughout the United Sates Colleges. Among the colleges selected by the students were University of Missouri-St. Louis, University of Kentucky, University of Kansas, University of Missouri and St. Louis Community Colleges.
One of the more poignant moments during the Commitment to Kids Banquet was the presentation of the Laura Sherman McLaughlin scholarship from Kathy Sherman. Several years ago, Laura Sherman lost her life in a car accident on her way to work. Laura had recently graduated from the University of Missouri with a degree in Engineering. She lingered for more than a year as a result of a brain trauma. As a tribute to Laura, her parents Kathy and Terry Sherman established the Laura Sherman McLaughlin Scholarship for a student who has a brain injury. Kathy, in presenting the scholarship, describes her daughter’s talent, warmth and courage.